The British Conservative Party’s election rules have been amended

Share Button

The rules for the election of the ruling British Conservative Party were amended on Tuesday. The purpose of the immediate effect is to have the successor of the Theresa May Prime Minister leaving Friday’s party as soon as possible.

May announced at the end of last month that he would leave the Conservative Party leadership on 7 June due to the failure to accept the agreement on the abolition of the British EU membership (Brexit), which had been rejected three times in the lower house of London. This also means the end of the Prime Minister’s mandate, but in executive capacity he acts as the head of government until he is elected.
In the first stage of the succession selection process, the Conservative faction of the Lower House narrows the list of starters with two rounds of voting, pronouncing each candidate in each round.
If none of the two candidates left after the last round retires, the 160,000 registered members of the Conservative Party will be able to elect a new leader of the party by postal vote, who will also be the next Prime Minister of Britain.
As previously stipulated in the Code of Conduct of the Conservative Party, candidates for leadership positions have to be supported by two other members of the Lower House Tory.
After the modification on Tuesday, each of the candidates starting in the successor selection competition will now have to obtain the support of eight fellow Members to be accepted by the 1922 Committee of Non-Governmental Representatives, the most influential policy and executive body in the Conservative Group.
The committee, which was named after the founders in the 1922 parliamentary elections in the lower house of London, made informal but practically binding political recommendations to conservative representatives in government – opposition periods, holding a shadow government.
This faction body is also responsible for managing the Conversion Process of the Conservative Party, and this group also initiated the amendment decided on Tuesday.
A new rule is that in the first and second rounds, it is not enough for the candidate to get the least number of votes to be left in the race: in the first round of voting, at least five percent of the votes of the conservative group of 313 must be obtained for the move, in the second round, this retention threshold will increase to 10 percent.
If in the first two rounds each starter crosses the minimum required voting ratio, then the original rule that the candidate with the least number of faction draws out of the competition will come into effect again.
The entry deadline is next Monday. The first ballot will be held next Thursday, the next one on 18, 19 and 20 June, on the basis of the current agenda.
The last two candidates remaining in the race will start their campaign on the 22nd of June.
The number of successor candidates is currently 11. Originally, it was announced on January 13 that they would be in charge of the leadership of the Conservative Party, but on Tuesday two candidates, James Cleverly, Secretary of State for Brexit and Kit Malthouse, Secretary of State for Local Government, stepped back.
Among the best-known starters is Boris Johnson’s former foreign minister, the frontman of the hard-line tory Brexit camp – who is currently considered the most successful offspring of betting offices -, Sajid Javid, Interior Minister Jeremy Hunt, Michael Gove Minister of Environment, Andrea Leadsom, former chief of the House of Commons, Dominic Raab was Minister Brexit and Rory Stewart, Head of International Development.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *